Assisi Ashram is the first house to be established under the jurisdiction of the Syro-Malabar sui juris Church. The initiative to start the house came from the people. But the house owes its origin to the efforts of Br. Ignatius Pettakkat. His Excellency Mar Sebastian Vayalil, Bishop of Palai, gave his kind permis- sion to start the foundation. The present site of the Ashram was part of what is known as ‘Meenkuzhy’ property, belonging to Kuruvinakunnel (Kolapath) family. This property had been donated to the Clarist sisters of Bharananganam and was in their possession. Rev. Fr. Francis Thudippara (popularly known as Fr. Vadakel) was managing it for them. Hence, when the site was donated to us, it was done with the joint consent of these three parties, namely, Mr. Thomas Joseph Kuruvinakkunnel, Rev. Mother Mary Ursula, the Superior of the Clarist convent and Fr. Francis Thudippara, and thus we are equally indebted to all of them. Besides the land, it may be noted, Mr.Thomas Joseph Kuruvinakunnel also contributed a substantial sum towards the building of the friary. Br. Berchmans, who was put in charge of building, arrived at Bharananganam in October 1952. The foundation stone was laid on 01 November 1952. After few months Br. Samuel came to his help. Shortly afterwards, Br.Alphonse too joined the fraternity and all of them worked hard to complete the main portion of the friary by June 1954. Although the foundation stone of the Chapel was laid by Mar Sebastian Vayalil on 01 March, 1953, it was completed and blessed only on 21 June 1963. Br. Alphonse, who remained for 17 years at Bharananganam, worked hard for the development of the Assisi Ashram and the Seraphic Seminary.

Br. Mathew Mulangacherryil – Guardian

Br. Antony Kalathil –  Vicar & Rector, Seraphic Seminary

Br. Mathew Parinthirickal

Br. Mathew Thazhathuveettil – Staff, Seraphic Seminary

Br. Jose Edayal

Br. Kantinath Ambattukuzhiyil

Br. Georgekutty Uppupuram

Br. Thomas Palelil – Procurator & In-charge of Provincial Infirmary

Br. Thomas Thalakulam – Director, Assisi Renewal Centre

Br. Isidore Valummel – Assistant Director, Assisi Renewal Centre

Br. Antony Vechoor – Director of S.F.O., Palai Diocese

Br. Manoj Pathiyil

Br. Jeby Muckachirayil 

Br. Prince Karottuchirackal

Br. Jinto Puthenpurackal   Member of ARC Team

Br. Jinu Arrancherry 

Br. Rentu Mannoor- Asst. Rector  Seraphic Seminary


Br. Cyriac Pananthanam

Br. Julius Poomaram

Br. Thomas Manthara

Br. Mathew Ullatt

Br. Mathew Kudackanal

Br. Joseph Kochumuriyil