News & Events

The General Chapter elected the General Minister of the Order in the person of Br. Roberto Genuin. According to the schedule, today was the day to elect his Council, made up of representatives of the various geographical areas. As our Constitutions state, “the responsibility of the councilors is to assist the general minister in the governance of the whole order.” (125, 7) Ten General Councilors were elected, one more than at the General Chapter of 2012, in order to provide a second Councilor for Africa. Here is the list of the elected General Councilors, in order of election: Norbert Auberlin Solondrazana Province of Madagascar Languages: French, English, Italian Francesco Neri Province of Puglia (Italy) Languages: Italian, English, German Carlos Silva Province of São Paulo (Brazil) Languages: Portuguese, Spanish Kilian Ngitir Custody of Cameroon Languages: English, French, Italian Piotr Stasiński Province of Warsaw (Poland) Languages: Polish, Italian Pio Murat Province of France – reelected Languages: French, Turkish, Greek, Italian, English John Baptist Palliparambil Province of St. Francis, Kerala (India) Languages: Malayalam, English, Italian Victorius Dwiardy Province of Pontianak (Indonesia) - reelected Languages: Indonesian, English, Dutch, Italian José Ángel Torres Rivera Custody of Puerto Rico (USA) Languages: Spanish, English, Italian Celestino Arias Province of New York and New England (USA)Curia Languages: English, Spanish, Portuguese